Skip to content

Department Staff Directory

Welcome to our Community Education Department Staff Directory! We at Community Education want to ensure that our QCUSD students and families are having an amazing time with our programs, please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns! 

Our goal, as a district, is to provide a quality education with the belief that all children can learn. We are proud of the comprehensive pre-k through 12th grade academic programs we offer to meet the needs for all of our students. We have quality programs in regular education, gifted, special education, and early childhood, as well as career and technical, and alternative high school services.


Ellie Hardt - Director of Community Education  

Hi, I am Ellie Hardt  and I am proud to be the Director of Community Education for QCUSD.  I have served in education for over 25 years working in a variety of roles ranging from a teacher, to a high school coach (basketball, track and cross country),  to an Athletic Director and now my new current role as the Director of Community Education . I attended Northern Arizona University (Go Lumberjacks!) where I received a BA in Elementary Education. I am an  Arizona native and I have called the Queen Creek area my home for the past 17 years. In my free time I love to organize cross country races around the country , shop, and spend time with my family. My husband Shaun and I have 6 amazing  kids (5 of which) have all graduated from QCHS. I have also been blessed with 7 beautiful grandchildren.

Feel free to contact me at ehardt@qcusd.org


 

DeeAnn Beall

Community Ed Admin Assistant

Enrichment Programs

480-987-5998, dbeall@qcusd.org




Lynnette Swainston

Financial Clerk

480-987-7429

lswainston@qcusd.org

 


Cara Roth

Facility Rental Clerk

480-987-5981

croth@qcusd.org

 Shirley Barnett

DK Before/After School Program Supervisor

480-655-6226

sbarnett@qcusd.org



Jamey Vella

Discovery Kids Contracts/Facilitator

480-987-7460 

 jvella@qcusd.org

Marissa Horton

Eastmark High School

Regional Lead - Youth Athletic Program

mhorton@qcusd.org


Troy Gibson

Queen Creek High School

Regional Lead - Youth Athletic Program

tgibson@qcusd.org

Discovery Kids Site Leads

Below are the Site Leads for our Discovery Kids Before and After School Program. The Site Leads are the Community Education staff that oversee the everyday operations for Discovery Kids at the respective schools. 


Desert Mountain Elementary School

~ Caleb Thrall

~ cthrall@qcusd.org

~ Site Phone: 480-494-7127

Faith Mather Sossaman Elementary  School

~ Melanie Whinery

~ mwhinery@qcusd.org

~ Site Phone: 480-930-2405

Frances-Brandon Pickett Elementary School

~ Destinee Lopez

~ dlopez4@qcusd.org

~ Site Phone: 480-274-9012

Gateway Polytechnic Academy

~Lee Thompson

~ lthompsonl@qcusd.org

~ Site Phone: 480-512-9581

Jack Barnes Elementary School

~ Kim Zaccagnino

~ kzaccagnino@qcusd.org

~ Site Phone: 480-241-0635

Queen Creek Elementary School

~ Christian Martinez

~ cmartinez2@qcusd.org

~ Site Phone: 480-277-0287

Silver Valley Elementary School

~ Jamey Vella

~ jvella@qcusd.org

~ Site Phone: 480-842-2342

Katherine Mecham Barney School

~ Cheryl Ann Hicks

~ chicks@qcusd.org

~ Site Phone: 480-241-5869

Schnepf Elementary 

School

~ Jennifer Luna

~ jluna@qcusd.org

~ Site Phone: 480-743-7930